“FUN” Friday- Just Leave Me…. NO WAY! (We are doing this together)

Standard

BUCKET LIST – No. 1

I’m declaring Friday’s on my blog as “FUN Friday”! Who doesn’t need a little more fun and a lot more adventure in their lives? For me, it will sort of be an ever-growing “Bucket List” if you will. I have done some travelling years ago and haven’t got to do a whole lot in the past few years. This kind of post will indulge me and remind me of all the AWESOME things in this world and make me strive to see more. I’m going to post something that I would like to do/see  and also post something that I have done. I’m excited!!! First “FUN Friday” post ahead…

Haiku Stairs, Oahu, Hawaii

I have always wanted to go to Hawaii and I have a feeling- I will get there someday. This looks like the coolest walk ever! It does say it’s illegal to do so but people do still manage to take in the amazing view it offers. I think I could do the 4000 (or so) stairs. The feeling would be incredible!

http://www.amusingplanet.com/2013/12/haiku-stairs-of-hawaii-stairway-to.html

http://www.to-hawaii.com/oahu/attractions/stairwaytoheaven.php

Image                                                                         Photo by  thecarena

In the past, I have done a huge hike that I thought was gonna kill me… seriously. I had never felt so tired in my life and I thought I was gonna die. I even told my friends to leave me behind…. I couldn’t do it. With their amazing help and pep talks from them, I did do it and was so happy they kept on me. I will never forget how desperate I felt that night to just sit down and how much I was cursing myself for not taking a camel! (In hindsight, I’m so glad I did not take that camel ride up because those poor animals were worked to the bone!)

THE DETAILS:

Date: May 20, 2000

Location: Mount Sinai (where Moses was said to have received the 10 Commandments)

Near the city of Saint Catherine, Sinai Peninsula, Egypt

Height: 2,285 m (7,497 ft) mountain

http://wikitravel.org/en/Mount_Sinai

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mount_Sinai

http://sacredsites.com/africa/egypt/mount_sinai.html

The purpose of climbing Mount Sinai was to watch the sun rise. So we started out at 12:50 am on the “easier trail”. It was a hard climb. Even with me “almost dying” 3/4 of the way up, we did it in about 2 hours. So, by 3:00 am we were at the top- relieved, exhausted and now sweating. Let me tell you- cold + sweat = DO NOT mix. We had to find a spot to lay out our sleeping bags and wait till the sun came up. I did not sleep a wink because I was so cold and shivering. It was a crazy night but so worth it in the end. As the sun came up, it rose over the mountains and it was magical. All the drama melted away and the sense of satisfaction was incredible.  I only wish I could have taken more photos but I did get one of me at the top- job well done! On the way back down (at dawn- 6:00am), we decided to take the more difficult trail.

We descended down 3,750 “steps of penitence” in the ravine behind Saint Catherine’s monastery. It was so much easier going down (maybe because I had a new outlook and sense of pride still lingering from reaching the top) but I did feel sorry for anyone that had bad knees and did this because I don’t think they would have been walking the next day!

The lesson from this, my friends is- exercise more so you aren’t so “out of shape”! Seriously though, even if you think you “can’t” do it… there is always a way. Let others help you and stay focused on the outcome. I would have missed out on an incredible experience (how often do you get to sleep on top of a mountain?) and the amazing sense of accomplishment, along with all the history and cultural information that was given to us along the way if it hadn’t been for my friends.

Image

About bnrboo

Hi! My name is Tina and I am an artsy-fartsy type with a love for all things colourful! I like to surround myself with things that make me happy and that includes my hubby G, and my two little angels, Z and W! I cannot forget my furry friends, Bonzo (the beagle) and my Bella Boo (tabby cat). I am a stay at home Mom for now who is always looking to do another project!

Leave a Reply

