Snowmageddon!

Standard

Spring is in the air…. la la la la. With the weather being a balmy 5° celcius yesterday we made a dash for outside to “play” in the snow. This winter has been soooooooo long. I haven’t seen snow like this since I was a kid. We have had like 5 cold air advisories (where it was around -20 to -35) and blizzard days- what?!  We don’t get it this bad usually. I think we may have been spoiled by the last 2 winters (as they have been pretty mild) and forgotten how a Canadian winter is. It hasn’t been very good “snowman” snow until now. With the warmer weather, the snow has turned a bit more wet so we got out there to roll those body parts. I think any yard that has a snowman, snow-woman or snow family looks awesome and that much more inviting. It looks like an invitation to visit for hot chocolate and marshmallows. That, coincidentally is always what Zoë wants after a play in the snow… everytime! As much as we are looking forward to spring we are also a bit nervous. We went into the garage tonight and there is a thin layer of water across half of it. Eeeeeek! Hardly any of it has melted so I think we may be in for a mess. We will have to wait and see. We aren’t out of the woods yet. Tomorrow is calling for yet another snowstorm and 5-10 cm more of snow. I’d better stock up on more hot chocolate and marshmallows!

DSC_0101-b (47)DSC_0101-b (51)DSC_0101-b (26)

With it being Tuedsay, I think I may do a “Tuesday Travel Tidbit” with my post. It will be of somewhere I have been and coincides with my topic of the day. Today’s topic is “Snowmen” so I only thought it fitting that I would include the “World’s Largest Snowman”. I love roadtrips and have a special place in my heart for Large Roadside Attractions. I stop at them all for photo ops. In 2004, I did a roadtrip with a friend that we called  the “Big Things” Roadtrip. We drove 4644km in 6 days just to find as many “roadside attractions” as we could. It was a lot of driving but it was awesome! Back to the Snowman… he was found off Hwy.11 in Beardmore, ON. I would love to build a giant one in my yard (out of snow) but the one above is as big as I could go. I needed help to lift his stomach on. That snow is HEAVY!

Untitled-3 Untitled-1 Untitled-2

If you would like a little more information on the Beardmore Snowman… check this out!

http://www.bigthings.ca/

http://www.roadsideattractions.ca/ontario.htm

Stay warm everyone!

Leave a Reply

