“FUN” Friday- Castle Love

Standard

BUCKET LIST – No.3

I want to stay the night in a castle! I could have easily crossed this off my bucket list if I had thought about it when I was travelling. I lived in England for a year so I had every opportunity! I am kicking myself now. There are an abundance of amazing castles in England, Ireland and Scotland and I probably could have stayed in one in each country. I don’t think I will be getting “over the pond” anytime soon so I may have to wait a bit on this one. The one thing about a bucket list is it actually gives you hope and excitement of the “someday”. I found a great site about castle stays  so I will be keeping it on file (it is “family-friendly” as I am not single anymore).

In doing a little research, I came across Leeds Castle in Kent. I visited that castle when travelling. It was beautiful and I loved it!  The grounds were amazing. I don’t think you could stay there back then but you sure can now! Maybe just maybe….

 

Leeds-Castle

Photo Credit: http://www.greatbritishgardens.co.uk/leeds_castle.htm

So, I have not stayed in a castle but I have STORMED a castle. On my tour through Northern Ireland, we stopped at Dunluce Castle. Unfortunately, we were a bit behind schedule so the sun was going down. We didn’t have a lot of time to explore but because there was no one around we “stormed” over the wall. We did get to see the sun set from a castle which was pretty awesome and I was secretly happy that none of us fell off the edge. It was really dark!

Dunluce Castle I know the picture isn't great but it's the only one I have at the castle as it was so dark. This is the wall we "stormed" over.

Dunluce Castle
I know the picture isn’t great but it’s the only one I have at the castle as it was so dark. This is the wall we “stormed” over.

Leave a Reply

