Aside

BUCKET LIST – No. 4

I adore donkeys! I don’t know what it is about them but I “LOVE” them. I think they are adorable, fun and they have been a part of some memorable times in my life. I don’t own any, although at one point in my life I thought it would be pretty cool to have a donkey farm. Maybe it’s the fact that they are a bit like me… STUBBORN. We have something in common.

My bucket list item for today is… to volunteer at a donkey sanctuary. It just so happens I have been to two of them. In 2009, I ended up going on a girl’s trip (kind of last minute) to Aruba. We all did some research and tried to fit in something that someone wanted to see or do while we were there. I discovered that they had a donkey sanctuary in Aruba and that is where I wanted to go. So, one day we rented jeeps and drove everywhere. We finally found the sanctuary but unfortunately it was closed for the day 😦  The donkeys, however were out so we got to have a little interaction with them on the other side of the fence. Yes, I was disappointed as I  would have liked to go in and talk to someone but it just didn’t happen. I was happy to give a little love from the other side…

http://main.arubandonkey.org/portal/    and   https://www.facebook.com/donkey.sanctuary.aruba

donkey aru2donkey aru4

donkey aru3donkey aru1

Donkey Sanctuary Aruba– March 12, 2009

Last year, while trying to find something to do with the kiddies, I discovered that we had a Donkey Sanctuary of Canada. How did I not know about this?! To make it even crazier, it is only about a 1 hour drive from me! I can’t believe I didn’t see/hear about this place. As soon as I saw it, I knew that’s where we would go…and we did! I loved it. We had a great afternoon learning about all the donkeys and their stories. It is a beautiful working farm. We discovered they also have volunteer days where you can go and help out with the donkeys.

As soon as my girls get a little bit bigger, I plan on crossing this off my bucket list (maybe a few times). I think it would be good to volunteer every year so I can get a few cuddles in as well.

donkey can2donkey can1

donkey can3

donkey can5Donkey Sanctuary of Canada

May 19, 2013

 

“FUN” Friday- Donkeys Donkeys

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

