Daily Archives: April 29, 2014

YUM YUM!

Standard

_________________________________________________________________________________________

YUM YUM!

Amish Broccoli Salad

_________________________________________________________________________________________

I make broccoli salad all the time for family get-together’s and it’s delicious. We all love it. When I came across this salad, I had to try it. I figured it had to be great as it is almost the same. It did not disappoint and it had the extra added veggie (the cauliflower) so it went a little further at meal time. The family said it was great and the only suggestion I received was to add more bacon! (from my brother). I had to use a little less than called for in the recipe because I ran out. So, I am sure if I had added what it said – I would have heard no complaints. I’m going to be switching this up with the broccoli one now and again! Yum!

Amish Broccoli Salad

1    head    broccoli ( chopped ) 
1    head    cauliflower ( chopped ) 
1    cup    mayonnaise 
1    cup    sour cream 
1    cup    shredded cheddar cheese 
1/2    cup    sugar 
1/2    teaspoon    salt 
1/2    pound    bacon ( fried, crumbled ) 

 

Directions

  1. Combine the chopped broccoli and cauliflower in a large bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine the mayonnaise, sour cream, sugar, and salt to make a creamy dressing.
  3. Add the dressing to the broccoli–cauliflower mix, stirring to evenly coat the vegetables.
  4. Stir in the bacon and the cheese, reserving a small amount to sprinkle on top of the salad just before serving.

 

Yields:12 servings

 

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Source: http://myrecipemagic.com/recipe/recipedetail/amish-broccoli-salad

_________________________________________________________________________________________