Daily Archives: April 28, 2014

YUM YUM!

Standard

_________________________________________________________________________________________

YUM YUM!

Kitchen Sink Cookies

_________________________________________________________________________________________

So, I came up with my own recipe in hopes of “getting rid” of some of the Easter candy we got. I have 2 small girls and they really don’t need it. And quite frankly, neither do my hubby and I. I decided to make some cookies and threw whatever I had in the bowl into these cookies. I ended up getting these “Kitchen Sink Cookies”! They have all kinds of stuff and I managed to sneak in some relatively “healthier items” as well. The Easter bunny did an egg hunt at our house and we had plastic eggs with raisins, craisins, smarties, mini eggs etc.  So, I mixed them all together and used them in our cookies. They turned out quite good, were very moist and they used up alot of our Easter goodies. I even managed to get rid of some cookies at my brother’s birthday so I don’t have to eat all of them myself!  I think I will be doing this at Halloween and Christmas as well.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
½ cup oatmeal
½ cup brown sugar
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 Tbsp. ground flaxseed
¾ cup butter, softened
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
¼ cup coconut

2 cups mix- craisins, raisins, sunflower seeds,  mini eggs, smarties, broken up chocolate eggs
(add any candies/chocolates you have lying around and want to use up)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375° F.
  1. Combine flour, oatmeal, brown sugar, salt, baking soda, ground flaxseed, coconut and butter. Mix well.
  1. Add eggs and vanilla. Mix.
  1. Add the coconut and 2 cups of mix (your choice). Mix until blended.
  1. Spoon out onto parchment lined baking sheet. I used a cookie scoop. Lightly flatten tops with fork (they will not spread very much).
  1. Bake for approximately 8-10 minutes. Cool on rack and enjoy!

 

Notes

  • it is a good way to use up leftover Easter, Halloween, Christmas candies/chocolates with a little twist of healthy!

 

Yields: 2 ½ – 3 dozen (depending on size)

 

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Source: Chasing Dreams & Flingin’ Beans

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Menu Plan Monday

Standard

Menu Plan Monday logo

 

APRIL 28-MAY 4th

Enjoy the week! Trying out some new recipes once again! Which one’s will make it into my binder? Hmmmm….

Monday- White Pizza Grilled Cheese (carried over) / Salad

Tuesday- Meatball Stew/Crusty Bread

Wednesday- Leftovers

Thursday- Ground Turkey Gyros/ Tzatziki / Pita Breads

Friday- Fish Sticks / Tater Skins / Veggie Stix

Saturday- Chicken Fingers / Fries / Corn

Sunday- Scalloped Potatoes / Ham / Carrots